The Sixty-Third Business Meeting of the Southeast Region began at 9:30 on July 9, 2011. President Beth McAuley presided and welcomed everyone. Past President, Lana Bailey extended welcome. National guest, Michael Edwards, was introduced. Frances Nelson led the Federation Hymn and the Star Spangled Banner, accompanied by Margie Garrett. Sandra Anderson led the pledge to the Flag. The collect was led by Norma Alexander.

The roll was taken using a sign-in sheet.

Barbara Hildebrand discussed the Fundraising for the Region. There are several boxes of the Bucks for Brevard greeting cards.

It was proposed last year that we sell a Southeast Regional Cookbook. Jimmie Walker has volunteered to be the Chairman. We do have funds for the project. The goal is to have recipes from Past Federation Officers, and it is hoped that many will participate. More information will be given when the "Bucks for Brevard" greeting cards are all sold, after which the cookbook project will start. More information will be given to the State Presidents from the Southeast Region.

Margie Garrett gave information on establishing an Advisory Council for the Southeast Region. She distributed a handout explaining why it might be helpful, how to set up the council and who might be a member of that council if it is established. The Proposals will be voted on during the business meeting to follow this meeting.

BUSINESS MEETING

The Minutes from 2009 were read by Secretary Elaine Knight. They were approved as read. The Minutes of the 2010 meeting were also read, and were approved as read.

The Treasurer Mabry Miller (enclosed).

Barbara Hildebrand reported on the finances of the Region. We do have \$26,000 which has been collected. Ten thousand of that been invested in a four year CD with a 4.2% interest rate. It matures in four years. (We

have already received \$225 twice a year from that investment. The interest was deposited into the checking amount.)

Fundraising for the "Bucks for Brevard" Campaign will be continuous and ongoing.

The following are possibilities for investment of the forthcoming donations which will be added to the \$15,000:

- Put them into a non-interest bearing account, which has no interest, but we also don't have to pay a charge for having the account.
- Invest in a 3 year CD yielding 1.74%
- Invest in Corporate Bonds, which do pay 2 %, but we have to pay \$7.5 0 per share for that investment.
- Create an investment account comprised of blue chip stocks (reliable stocks which do not move fast, but these stocks do pay dividends.)

Once the scholarship is established we should determine when it is to be awarded. The original goal was to pay the scholarship four years from its inception.

Dr. Zuill Bailey moved that once a positive amount is established for the scholarship the award would be given annually, that if there should be a deficit in the funds in the account (which meant not having the amount needed to make the scholarship award), that we contact the State Presidents and Membership of the Region in order to make them aware of the need for funds and hopefully make up the difference by this email fundraising effort. This motion was seconded by Michael Edwards.

The motion was amended (by Zuill) that the established scholarship amount be \$1500. That was seconded by Sara Helen Moore That amendment passed.

The original motion by Zuill (that if the scholarship amount is not available in the account from which the scholarship is to be paid, the Regional Vice President will contact the State Presidents and Southeast Regional

membership to make up the deficit) had been seconded by Michael Edwards. This motion passed.

Elaine Knight suggested Barbara Hildebrand, Zuill Bailey and Michael Edwards form a committee to invest the money from the checking account (all but \$1000 to prevent maintenance fee). This was seconded by Norma Alexander.

Elaine Knight gave the Nominating Committee Report for the Southeast Region. Elaine Knight was nominated as Secretary, Pat Howell was nominated as Treasurer. No nominations were made from the floor. Deborah Freeman moved that the slate be approved by acclamation. Officers were approved.

Elaine Knight moved the SE Region Advisory Council be set up as proposed by Margie Garrett (see attached).

That motion was amended that the word "prior" replace "previous", and the requirements for being on the Advisory Board be changed from four years prior to two years prior attendance required at Brevard. That amendment motion was made by Jan Hill, and seconded by Barbara Hildebrand. The amendment passed.

The original motion to set up the SE Region Advisory Council as outlined on attached sheet, with the amendments passed.

Nominations for the Advisory Board were as follows:

Sarah Helen Moore (who has been a Southeast Regional Vice President) was nominated for a one year term. Margie Garrett was nominated for a three year term.

Sandra Anderson was nominated by Deborah Freeman and Margaret Ulmer was nominated by Ann Huckabee so there was a written run-off ballot. Elaine Knight, Deborah Freeman and Rachel Pister were tellers. Sandra Anderson was elected to fill the two year term on the Advisory Board.

Barbara Hildebrand asked Margie Garrett to write an amendment incorporating newly established SE Region Advisory Council guidelines.

Dr. Mabry Miller was appointed by incoming Southeast Regional Vice President Barbara Hildebrand to be the Parliamentarian.

Beth McAuley thanked South Carolina for their sponsorship of this Regional Weekend and we all thanked Beth for her tireless work.

On a sad note, Frances Nelson announced that Ruth Smith had died Saturday night and the Funeral will be Monday.

Dale Clark, treasurer of host state South Carolina announced 49 in attendance.

Alabama host for the 2012 Brevard Weekend extended invitation.

Elaine Knight